top of page
R. Spencer Delamater, P.E. Scholarship

The Wichita Branch R. Spencer Delamater, P.E. Scholarship was established in 1999 for the purpose of inspiring civil engineering students to high achievement in both academic and leadership development. The $1,500 scholarship is available to a Kansas State University, University of Kansas, or Benedictine College civil engineering junior or senior meeting the stated eligibility requirements. 

The objectives of the scholarship are to:

  • Recognize student achievement in leadership in organizations that are devoted to the betterment of the Civil Engineering profession and society.

  • Encourage scholastic achievement.

Other Society Scholarships are available for students regardless of local geography.  Apply for additional scholarships through ASCE.


The following criteria will be used to determine student eligibility for application to the scholarship:

  1. Academic performance through the previous Spring semester of at least a 2.5 GPA. The selected student will be asked to provide a transcript of grades.

  2. Having completed 75 hours minimum of graded work for juniors or 105 hours minimum for seniors by the end of the current Fall semester.

  3. Preference shall be granted to students who either 1) are from a high school or community college in the 37 county Wichita Branch territory prior to attending Kansas State University, University of Kansas or Benedictine College (See map) or 2) have interned with a professional consulting firm or government agency with an office in the Wichita Branch territory.  

  4. A member of and involvement in the student chapter of ASCE.

  5. Campus and community activity.

The Scholarship Selection Committee will make applications available through the universities during the fall semester and select the winner based upon the criteria shown on the application and consultations with applicable civil engineering department faculty. The chosen student will be notified in the fall; tuition money will be available for the spring semester.


Applications for the next scholarship are typically available in October each year. The Wichita Branch of ASCE reserves the right to waive irregularities or not award a scholarship.


Download a copy of the rules and scholarship application.  

2023 - Nick Saia - K-State

2022 - Mason Ericson - K-State

2021 - Sydney Crandall - KU

2020 - Derek Kratzer - K-State

2019 - Kirk Stewart - K-State

2018 - Kristy Nixon - Benedictine

2017 - Chad Olney - K-State

2016 - Evan McMillian - K-State

2015 - Michael Kopper - KU

2014 - Ashley Green - K-State

2013 - Trevor Kaufman - K-State

2012 - Andrew Shearrer - K-State

2011 - Wesley Nyberg - K-State

2010 - Wesley Nyberg - K-State

2009 - Jacob Ferrell - K-State

2008 - Talitha Jennison - KU

2007 - Nichole Carroll - KU

2006 - Marshall Bird - K-State

2005 - Stephen Mazouch - K-State

2004 - {No Selection}

2003 - Bryce Barkus - K-State

2002 - John Ngunjiri - K-State

2001 - Matt Stuckey - KU

2000 - Kyle Shomaker - K-State

Past Awardees
bottom of page